Bangladesh first to give world champions unfitting reception

Photo: Firoz Ahmed

Bangladesh became the only team ever to have beaten a reigning world champion in their first assignment of that particular format since the World Cup as the Shakib Al Hasan-led side clinched the three-match T20I series, with a game in hand, against the ODI and T20 World Champions England on Sunday.

The Tigers registered a four-wicket victory in the second T20I against England at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur today to take a 2-0 lead in the series. 

Since the tournament's inaugural edition in 2007, eight installments of the T20 World Cup have witnessed six nations who went on to taste glory; with England (2010, 2022) and the West Indies (2012, 2016) winning it twice, while India (2007), Pakistan (2009), Sri Lanka (2014), Australia (2021) winning it once.     

None of the World Cup-winning sides ever lost their first assignment in that particular format. 

Since lifting the T20 World Cup in Australia in November 2022, this was England's first T20I series. England, however, played six ODIs, and five Tests before their tour to Bangladesh earlier this month.  

Following this win, Bangladesh lead the head-to-head chart in T20Is against England by 2-1. The Tigers will have the opportunity to complete a clean sweep of the Jos Buttler-led world champions when they meet for the final T20I in Mirpur next Tuesday.  


সিরাজুল আলম খান
৯ ঘণ্টা আগে|শ্রদ্ধাঞ্জলি

‘কাপালিক’ থেকে ‘দাদা ভাই’: রহস্যময় সিরাজুল আলম খান

তিনি ছিলেন স্বাধীন বাংলাদেশ গড়ে তোলার স্বপ্ন-সংগ্রাম ও স্বাধীনতা পরবর্তী রাজনৈতিক মেরুকরণের অন্যতম নিয়ামক শক্তি। তিনি যেভাবে চেয়েছেন, যা করতে চেয়েছেন, তাই করেননি—করিয়েছেন।